When Facebook opened up its second annual Grace Hopper scholarship opportunity this past June, we also announced that we were quadrupling the number of scholarship recipients from 5 to 20. After reviewing hundreds of applications from talented women engineers around the world, we now have the final list of amazing women to receive full scholarships to this year's Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing in Portland, Oregon.

Today, we're thrilled to announce the winners. Congratulations to:

  • Zeinab Abbassi – Columbia
  • Nishita Agarwal – Indian Institute of Technology
  • Clare Bayley – MIT
  • Jasmine Berry – Norfolk
  • Maddie Boyd – Harvard
  • Irina Calciu – Brown
  • Emily Cheng – Stanford
  • Kristal Curtis – UC Berkeley
  • Daphne Ezer – Duke
  • Angelina Veni Johanna – Stanford
  • Maryam Karimzadehgan – University of Illinois-UC
  • Mo Kudeki – University of Illinois-UC
  • Marilia Melo – University of Tsukuba
  • Avani Nandini – Indian Institute of Technology-Karpar
  • Valentina De Rosa – Sapienza University of Rome and ETH Zürich
  • Denzil Sikka – MIT
  • Flora Ponjou Tasse – University of Cape Town
  • Melissa Winstanley – University of Washington
  • Suiyi Xin – CalTech
  • Emily Zhao – MIT

The winners will join us for a day of activities at our Palo Alto headquarters and will fly together to spend the rest of the week at the conference in Portland. At the conference, the winners will have a special brunch with Facebook's COO Sheryl Sandberg, who is giving this year's conference keynote. Jocelyn Goldfein, a director of engineering at Facebook and Mike Schroepfer, the VP of engineering at Facebook will also give talks at the conference.

Tune into Facebook Live to watch Sheryl Sandberg's keynote address live from the Grace Hopper Conference this Thursday, November 10 at 8:55 AM/PT here.

The theme of this year's Grace Hopper Celebration of Women in Computing is "What If?" and offers attendees opportunities for mentoring, networking and technical and career development. Facebook's scholarship winners will have the opportunity to see leading researchers present their current work and attend sessions that focus on the role of women in today’s technology fields, including computer science, information technology, research and engineering.

Leave a Reply

To help personalize content, tailor and measure ads, and provide a safer experience, we use cookies. By clicking or navigating the site, you agree to allow our collection of information on and off Facebook through cookies. Learn more, including about available controls: Cookies Policy